top of page
  • info997092

Students Learn Students Vote Coalition Announces 2021 Advisory Board

The Students Learn Students Vote (SLSV) Coalition announced its 2021 Advisory Board on Thursday, which is comprised of 15 coalition partners, including nonprofit and campus leaders, faculty members, and students. The SLSV Coalition Advisory Board will help with 2021 coalition-wide goal setting and subgranting to coalition partners.

Youth turnout reached historic levels in 2020, despite a global pandemic and unprecedented mis- and dis-information. This was part of a sustained trend powered by an infrastructure that supports youth engagement, which importantly includes colleges and universities – institutions that young people learn from and engage with every day – that have been building, growing, and iterating on student engagement strategies day in and day out since the Coalition’s founding in early 2016.

This work does not end after a presidential election cycle, and the 2021 Advisory Board, in conjunction with the SLSV Executive Committee, will guide the SLSV Coalition as partners work collectively towards its 2021 Coalition Goals.

“2021 will be another odd and unprecedented period,” said Clarissa Unger, Director of the SLSV Coalition. “This will be a year of reintegration after a global pandemic and re-envisioning what our democracy can be as we strive for justice and equity that have never been fully realized in our country. The 2021 Advisory Board and Executive Committee will help us continue this work as we move closer to a more equitable democracy.”

The 2021 SLSV Coalition Advisory Board:

  • Chanelle Brown - Advocacy Chair, National Urban League Young Professionals

  • Sebastian Canales - Student, Cuyahoga Community College

  • Rachel Clay - Southeast Regional Manager, Campus Vote Project

  • Nicole Costa - Campus Outreach Lead, Democracy Works

  • Niamh Harrop - President and Campaign Coordinator, Florida PIRG Students, University of Central Florida

  • Divyansh Kaushik - Vice President of External Affairs, Graduate Student Assembly, Carnegie Mellon University

  • Meg McCormick - Director, Maine Students Vote

  • Dominique McMillan - Program Coordinator, ALL IN Campus Democracy Challenge

  • Purvi Patel - Director of Civic and Campus Engagement, Institute of Politics, University of Chicago

  • Jose Patiño - Director of Education and External Affairs, Aliento Education Fund

  • Samantha Perlman - Civic Engagement Manager, Scholars Strategy Network

  • Dr. Teri Platt - Associate Professor and Director of Honors Program, Clark Atlanta University

  • Jessica Ronan - Program Coordinator, Center for Youth Political Participation, Rutgers University-New Brunswick

  • Duy Trinh - Program Administrator, Institute for Democracy and Higher Education, Jonathan M. Tisch College of Civic Life, Tufts University

  • Paul Valdez - Associate Director, Center for Public Impact, Bowling Green State University

While the SLSV Coalition has had an Advisory Board since 2017, in 2020 the Coalition established an Executive Committee. While the Advisory Board continues to help with coalition-wide goal setting and the SLSV subgrant process, the Executive Committee has broader oversight and long-term strategic responsibilities.

The SLSV Executive Committee includes:

  • Teresa Acuña - Associate Director of Democratic Governance, Harvard Ash Center

  • Mike Dean - Executive Director, LeadMN

  • Joy Fulkerson - Director, Leadership and Civic Engagement, East Tennessee State University

  • Lizette Mata - Deputy Secretary of State, State of California


About the SLSV Coalition

The Students Learn Students Vote (SLSV) Coalition is the national hub and largest nonpartisan network in the United States dedicated to increasing college student voter participation. The Coalition convenes and connects partners, campuses, and students with each other and with resources and programming towards achieving a vision of ensuring that every student has easy and equal access to participate in every election. They use data, relationships, celebration, and easy-to-follow planning structures, to help campus and local leaders register and turnout more student voters every year. The SLSV Coalition is a project of the National Conference on Citizenship (NCoC), a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization. NCoC is strictly nonpartisan, and does not support or oppose any candidate or party.



bottom of page