Our 

 Staff  

About | Our Staff

Mike Burns

National Director

        mburns@campusvoteproject.org

Michael Burns is the National Director for Fair Elections Center’s Campus Vote Project.  He spent over five years working in electoral politics prior to law school, including two years as the Executive Director of the Fairfax County Democratic Committee.

Khaula Zafar

Communications Manager
       kzafar@campusvoteproject.org

Khaula is based in Columbus, Ohio where she attended The Ohio State University and earned a Bachelor of Science in Evolution and Ecology, with minors in Political Science and Women’s Gender and Sexuality Studies.

Raaheela Ahmed is the Deputy Director for Fair Elections Center's  Campus Vote Project. She is an experienced activist and organizer from Maryland and an elected official on the Prince George's County School Board, who has worked with several nonprofit organizations including America Reads*America Counts and New American Leaders.

Raaheela Ahmed

Deputy Director

Rachel Clay

Southeast Regional Coordinator
       rclay@campusvoteproject.org

Rachel graduated from Appalachian State University with a B.A. in political science and a B.A. in women’s studies. While at Appalachian State, Rachel worked for two years as an organizer for Ignite NC...

Kassie Phebillo

Curriculum & Research Coordinator

       kphebillo@campusvoteproject.org

Kassie Phebillo is the Curriculum & Research Coordinator for Campus Vote Project. She is a Communication Studies PhD Candidate at the University of Texas Austin, where she studies the intersection... 

Chadwick Leonard

Florida, State Coordinator
       cleonard@campusvoteproject.org

Chadwick Leonard is a native of Orlando, Florida. Chadwick received his B.A. in Mass Communications from Bethune-Cookman University in 2012.  Chadwick found his passion for organizing as an intern with the Southern Christian Leadership Conference...

Ciarra Malone

Georgia, State Coordinator       

       cmalone@campusvoteproject.org

Born and raised in Atlanta, Ciarra is a recent graduate of Kennesaw State University (KSU), with a bachelor’s degree in Political Science with a double minor in International Affairs and African/ African Diaspora Studies.

Sumaiya Ahmed Sheikh

Michigan, State Coordinator
       sahmed@campusvoteproject.org

Sumaiya Ahmed Sheikh comes from a long history of community service, marketing & communications, and civic engagement. Prior to joining Campus Vote Project, Sumaiya served as the Executive Director of the Michigan Muslim Community Council...

Dylan Sellers

Ohio, State Coordinator
       dsellers@campusvoteproject.org

Dylan was born in Cleveland, OH and has dedicated his life to the education and empowerment of marginalized youth and families in Ohio. With this passion, he has done work in Cleveland as a Political Strategist of Children’s...

Chuck Black

Pennsylvania, State Coordinator
       cblack@campusvoteproject.org

Chuck Black is the Pennsylvania Coordinator for the Campus Vote Project. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in political science from Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania, and a Master of Science in project management...

Maya Patel

Texas, State Coordinator
       mpatel@campusvoteproject.org

Maya is the Texas State Coordinator for the Campus Vote Project. Maya is originally from The Woodlands, Texas and moved to Austin to attend the University of Texas at Austin. While at UT she majored in chemistry... 

Madeline Doane

Virginia, State Coordinator
       mdoane@campusvoteproject.org

Madeline Doane is a recent graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University where she double majored in Political Science and International Studies with a concentration in Latin America. She has been active in the Richmond and VCU...

Kristin Hansen

Wisconsin, State Coordinator

Kristin Hansen is a skilled organizer with experience working with the Wisconsin Muslim Civic Alliance, the ACLU of Wisconsin, and other community organizations. She also has performed party political organizing activities in Wisconsin at the local and state levels. Kristin has a B.A. in Philosophy, Politics, and Economics from Carroll University

Morgan Spicer

Florida, Deputy State Coordinator

A recent graduate from the University of Florida with degrees in political science and international studies, Morgan has worked extensively to increase voter registration, turnout, and education among students in the Gainesville area. She is excited to expand her work across Florida and to help empower students with the tools and resources they need to become engaged in the democratic process.

Hira Khan

Michigan, Deputy State Coordinator

      hkhan@campusvoteproject.org

With a background in policy, Hira has been instrumental in building a community-focused legislative agenda in Illinois, including the introduction of four separate bills in the Illinois Legislature.

Mary Lyons

North Carolina, Deputy State Coordinator

       mlyons@campusvoteproject.org

Mary is an organizer and trainer born and raised in North Carolina. She has dedicated recent years to empowering youth and their communities in order to fully participate in shaping their futures.

Alexis Crosby

Ohio, Deputy State Coordinator

       acrosby@campusvoteproject.org

Alexis is a Cleveland native who has worked intensively in education, specifically in empowering youth and providing equitable access to marginalized kids in the areas of work force development and technology education.

Philip Hensley

Pennsylvania, Deputy State Coordinator

       phensley@campusvoteproject.org

Prior to joining CVP, Philip worked for more than seven years as a political organizer. He managed campaigns for congressional and state offices in southeastern Pennsylvania, where he grew up.

Jordan Smith

Virginia, Deputy State Coordinator

       jsmith@campusvoteproject.org

After growing up in Richmond, Jordan attended Emory & Henry College in Southwest Virginia to double major in Political Science as well as Civic Innovation.

Spencer Reed

National Manager of Student Poll Workers

       sreed@campusvoteproject.org

Spencer is a proud Vermonter and is a recent graduate of the University of Chicago with a background in education and political organizing. Prior to joining Campus Vote...

check.jpg
Aaron Blinderman

East Regional Coordinator of 
Student Poll Workers

       ablindermsn@campusvoteproject.org

Moving from Connecticut to Colorado for college, Aaron gained a passion for student organizing, electoral politics, and higher education. After working at the American University in Cairo...

check.jpg
Zach Price

South Regional Coordinator of Student Poll Workers

       zprice@campusvoteproject.org

Zach earned a bachelor’s degree in Government at the University of Texas at Austin and spent several years involved in nonpartisan civic engagement work on campus. His work led to...

Emma Godel

Intern

       egodel@campusvoteproject.org 

Emma is on track to earn a bachelor's degree in political science from Allegheny College in 2021. At Allegheny, she's heavily involved in electoral efforts, and organizes every year to increase voter... 

Taylor Boyle

Intern

       tboyle@campusvoteproject.org 

Taylor is a senior at Clarion University of Pennsylvania pursuing dual degrees in Political Science and Economics. She has been registering students and educating voters for four years through...

Campus Vote Project is a project of Fair Elections Center

(202) 331-0114            info@campusvoteproject.org

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon