About | Our Staff

Mike Burns

National Director

        mburns@campusvoteproject.org

Michael Burns is the National Director for Fair Elections Center’s Campus Vote Project.  He spent over five years working in electoral politics prior to law school, including two years as the Executive Director of the Fairfax County Democratic Committee.

Khaula Zafar

Communications Director
       kzafar@campusvoteproject.org

Khaula is based in Columbus, Ohio where she attended The Ohio State University and earned a Bachelor of Science in Evolution and Ecology, with minors in Political Science and Women’s Gender and Sexuality Studies.

Raaheela Ahmed is the Deputy Director for Fair Elections Center's  Campus Vote Project. She is an experienced activist and organizer from Maryland and an elected official on the Prince George's County School Board, who has worked with several nonprofit organizations including America Reads*America Counts and New American Leaders.

Raaheela Ahmed

Deputy Director

Rachel Clay

Southeast Regional Manager
       
rclay@campusvoteproject.org

Rachel graduated from Appalachian State University with a B.A. in political science and a B.A. in women’s studies. While at Appalachian State, Rachel worked for two years as an organizer for Ignite NC...

Kassie Phebillo

Curriculum & Research Coordinator

       kphebillo@campusvoteproject.org

Kassie Phebillo is the Curriculum & Research Coordinator for Campus Vote Project. She is a Communication Studies PhD Candidate at the University of Texas Austin, where she studies the intersection... 

Dylan Sellers

National HBCU Manager
       dsellers@campusvoteproject.org

Dylan Sellers is a husband, brother, son, and community activist. A native of Cleveland, Ohio, he has served as a member of the Children’s Defense Fund-New Abolitionist Association, the Cleveland Community Police...

Chuck Black

Pennsylvania, State Coordinator
       cblack@campusvoteproject.org

Chuck Black is the Pennsylvania Coordinator for the Campus Vote Project. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in political science from Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania, and a Master of Science in project management...

Madeline Doane

Virginia, State Coordinator
       mdoane@campusvoteproject.org

Madeline Doane is a recent graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University where she double majored in Political Science and International Studies with a concentration in Latin America. She has been active in the Richmond and VCU...

Ciarra Malone

Georgia, State Coordinator       

       cmalone@campusvoteproject.org

Born and raised in Atlanta, Ciarra is a recent graduate of Kennesaw State University (KSU), with a bachelor’s degree in Political Science with a double minor in International Affairs and African/ African Diaspora Studies.

Alexis Crosby

Ohio, State Coordinator
       acrosby@campusvoteproject.org 

Alexis is a Cleveland native who has worked intensively in education, specifically in empowering youth and providing equitable access to marginalized kids in the areas of work force development and technology ..

Kristin Hansen

Wisconsin, State Coordinator

Kristin Hansen is a skilled organizer with experience working with the Wisconsin Muslim Civic Alliance, the ACLU of Wisconsin, and other community organizations. She also has performed party political organizing activities in Wisconsin at the local and state levels. Kristin has a B.A. in Philosophy, Politics, and Economics from Carroll University

Bianca Avery 

Texas, State Coordinator
       bavery@campusvoteproject.org

Louisiana born and Texas raised, Bianca is an educator, political strategist, and community organizer based out of Dallas,Texas. She is a graduate of Texas A&M University (WHOOP!) and completed her graduate studies in ...

Morgan Spicer

Florida, State Coordinator

A recent graduate from the University of Florida with degrees in political science and international studies, Morgan has worked extensively to increase voter registration, turnout, and education among students in the Gainesville area. She is excited to expand her work across Florida and to help empower students with the tools and resources they need to become engaged in the democratic process.

Emma Godel

National Intern

       egodel@campusvoteproject.org 

Emma is on track to earn a bachelor's degree in political science from Allegheny College in 2021. At Allegheny, she's heavily involved in electoral efforts, and organizes every year to increase voter turnout and enfranchisement. Recent projects include amplifying .....

Whitney Williams

Communications Intern

         wwilliams@campusvoteproject.org

Whitney Williams is a sophomore in the Ethel Waddell Githii Honors Program at Spelman College, majoring in Political Science. Whitney has a passion for youth engagement in the political process and spreading awareness about important political issues. She is heavily involved in ..

Jenna Greene

Student Programming Intern                     jgreene@campusvoteproject.org 

Jenna is an incoming Senior at Texas Lutheran University, set to earn her bachelor's degree in political science in Spring of 2022. She has been serving as a Democracy Fellow on her campus, while also being involved in multiple on-campus organizations and clubs dedicated to ....

Kyah Probst

Communications Intern  

       kprobst@campusvoteproject.org

Kyah Probst is an incoming senior at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee majoring in Community Education & Engagement. She is a former Campus Correspondent for the MediaWise Voter Project, where she and her team were in charge of training one million college ...

Jashaun C. Hyde

HBCU Intern

         jhyde@campusvoteproject.org

Jashaun C. Hyde hails from Richmond, Virginia and is a Senior at Virginia State University. As a strong-minded and adaptable individual, Jashaun feels he is a good fit for politics On campus he has held the position of  Student Ambassador, while also serving as ....